Governance & Board of Trustees


Our Board of Trustees provides guidance and strategic planning and develops school policy in accordance with SFAS's Mission statement. The board works in partnership with the Central California Conference (CCC) to hire and supervise staff, implement curriculum, oversee the facility and implement Board policy.


The Board consists of voting Trustees who are nominated and elected by the consituency churches. In addition, there are five ex-officio members of the Board: CCC Education Department Superintendent, SFAS's Principal, SF SDA Church pastor and the Parent Teacher Organization leader. Board meetings are held regularly each month. Board meetings are open to members of the SFAS community.


Five standing subcommittees make recommendations and report to the Board. They are the Human Resource, Curriculum & Technology, Finance & Administration, Property Management, and Marketing/Fundraising Committees. Other ad-hoc committees may be created and dissolved as necessary. Members of these committees may consist of some members of the Board and/or members of the SFAS community.


Position Member(s)
School Board Chair Mark Ferrell
School Board Vice-Chair  
Executive Secretary Betty Hsue
Human Resource Committee Victoria Lauritzen, Chair
Curriculum & Technology Commitee  
Finance & Administration Committee Mark Ferrell
Home & School Association  
Property Management Committee Mark Ferrell
Marketting & Fundraising Committee  


School Board Representatives are from the following churches:
Hillside Community Church
Pacifica SDA Church
San Francisco Central SDA Church
San Francisco Chinese SDA Church
San Francisco Filipino SDA Church
San Francisco Japanese SDA Church
San Francisco Korean SDA Church
San Francisco Latin American SDA Church
San Francisco Rainbow SDA Church
San Francisco Russian SDA Church
San Francisco Tabernacle
San Francisco Voice of Hope Hispanic
South San Francisco Latin American SDA Church
South San Francisco Samoan SDA Church